RSS

February 9: 1,000 with Dad

10 Feb

On a day highlighted by one super-cool Godson’s loss of yet another bottom tooth (Way to go, Petey!), Dad and I celebrated the Tooth Fairy’s pending visit with an hour and a half at the gym and 1,000 made foul shots.

Mr. Seth Tatman Cummings (a.k.a. Dad), he of 1,000 points of his own while manning the hardwood at Bates College in the early- to mid-1960s, was feeling about as lousy as he’s felt, physically, but he insisted he was good enough to go anyway … and stayed upright by taking a bunch of breaks.  The way that usually works is that he’ll step off the court at some multiple of 100, get a drink of water, and sit on the gymnasium stage until my first miss after the next 10 made.  In other words, he gets at least 10 shots off, and if I’m shooting particularly well he stands to sit for a bunch more.

That said … I’d call tonight an average shooting night generally, but for whatever reason I got into kind of a groove when he sat at 900.  At 925, I hadn’t missed, so he sat.  At 950, I hadn’t missed, so he sat.  At 975, I hadn’t missed, so he sat.  At 996, I still hadn’t missed, so he sat.

Just four more, Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaavey!

And that, my friends, is when I … guh! … choked.

So here’s to Petey, here’s to ninety-something in a row, here’s to 128,307 down and 871,693 to go to 1 million made foul shots.

And here’s to our soldiers and Veterans, with our deepest admiration.

For more on Hoops For Heroes, visit www.hoopsforheroes.com or contact Dave Cummings at 603-554-7855.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “February 9: 1,000 with Dad

  1. Keith Belanger

    February 10, 2010 at 7:51 am

    Dave,

    Keith from church here. What can I do, and a group do, to help you? Can we come rebound for you sometime? And I’m going to start spreading this story around even more; what media outlets have you already contacted? I will also be putting in a plug w/ UNH Athletics. You should come to the Field House some day and shoot 1,000, to really gain some publicity.

     
    • hoopsforheroes

      February 10, 2010 at 4:02 pm

      Hey Keith … I’d love to have you and anyone interested come and help rebound. The greatest need (because of the hours) is weeknights, which is typically an 8:30-10:30 routine. Then there’s always the weekends, which is more flexible in terms of hours. That said, why don’t you throw out a few dates and times that would work for you, and we’ll see if we can make it happen. As to UNH, I’d be all over it. If it can be coordinated around an event (i.e. a basketball game), all the better, but if it’s simply to shoot in the fieldhouse, that would be cool, too. Again, if you give it some thought and come up with a few dates, I’ll let you know what works. Thanks a ton for the consideration.
      Best, Dave

       

Leave a Reply

 
