RSS

April 29-May 2: 4,800, and thank God she’s back

02 May

Last night, at 8:47 on the evening of May 1, The Beautiful Heth walked through the door, after a three-day, two-night work trip to Denver. Thank God she’s back, because I’m pretty much useless when it comes to running things at home on my own. Seriously. It’s kind of embarrassing to say, but when she leaves, it’s as if a piece of my frontal lobe leaves with her.

This fact was crystallized Saturday morning at Noah’s practice, when a buddy of ours, Bill Welch, said something to the effect of, “Forget to shave?” Until that moment, I hadn’t even considered it. The question now in front of me, I realized I hadn’t broken out the Gillette since TBH left … and my last shower? To be honest, not really sure.

But my personal hygiene was not the worst of it. She left early Thursday morning, and within a few hours after the rest of us got up, I had lost my wallet twice and my dad’s cat once. Both have since reappeared, thank goodness. Two basketballs were additional temporary casualties … left at Noah’s practice on Saturday and retrieved the following morning.

And those are just the things I remember forgetting.

The fact is, we’re all a little out of sync when TBH is gone. Rosie’s nap disappears. Bedtime gets later. Dinner? Let’s just say the Epsom House of Pizza does a little better business when she’s out of town. I miss her, and the kids miss her even more. When she got back Saturday night, Noah ran out to the car to meet her, walked in with her, and stood there in the hallway, hugging her with his eyes closed for what must have been a solid two minutes.

“I got you a little something,” she told him.

“I don’t care,” he said. “I’m just glad you’re back.”

(I know, that sounds kind of like fiction writing, but that’s exactly how it went down. I should point out, by the way, that I don’t get quite the same reaction when I come home from trips. I mean, then miss me, but they don’t, you know, miss me … and it’s OK.)

So The Beautiful Heth is back, and things are better around here for all of us.

As for the shooting, yikes … four days have gone by since the last post, haven’t they? (Another casualty.) Let’s see, 1,500 Thursday morning, 500 Friday night, 1,500 Saturday morning, and 1,200 this morning. All together, that’s 4,800 in four days, and a grand total of 244,707 down, 755,293 to go to 1 million made foul shots. Looks like it’ll be Thursday that we’ll hit the quarter-million mark.

For more on Hoops For Heroes, with a goal of 1 million made foul shots and $1 million raised for the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund, visit www.hoopsforheroes.com or contact Dave Cummings at 603-554-7855.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
