RSS

May 10-12: 4,500, and more interesting feedback

11 May

Well, three more days of 1,500 each has brought us to 258,007 made foul shots in 183 days — about 1,410 per day.

But …

I promised myself, and I promised The Beautiful Heth, that this time I wasn’t going to look. A few months back, when Kevin Gray and the Union Leader covered Hoops For Heroes, we got our fair share of negative online responses from the reader forum. To be honest, I really didn’t see it coming, and it was a little like a kick in the gut.

So at 250,000, when the UL was again very generous in its print coverage, I was bound and determined not to go online.

And then, like the guy who can’t turn his head away from the train wreck, I went online.

From Jeff in Manchester: “The empty gesture of shooting free throws messes well with the hollow war that we are in that needlessly robs Americans of their lives. Support our troops by demanding that they are brought home to their loved ones.”

From Tim in Auburn: “This self-centered attention hound needs to be ignored. I’d be so embarrassed if I was related to this clown.”

And from Jake in Manchester: “Just a reminder that I will be starting my ‘beers for troops’ campaign as soon as Jeff hits his million. I will be drinking beers every weekend until each and everyone of our boys is back home safe. If someone at the UL would like a picture of me in action feel free to contact me, myself, or I. Perhaps Jeff would like to join me in a drinkapalooza for a grand finale … after all … it really is just about us … and the TROOPS!!”

Safe to say that Jake, Tim and Jeff won’t be coming up to rebound any time soon.

Kidding aside, I’d be lying if I said this stuff doesn’t bother me (and I truly appreciate the support, by the way, from Patricia in Newport, Chris in Goffstown and James in Manchester). When we began six months ago, I really didn’t anticipate a negative reaction, other than possibly a complaint or two that I was turning on the lights at the school gym. Otherwise, what’s the harm in a guy using his one lonely skill raising some money for a cause? That’s what I figured, anyway.

Oh well, so I’m naive.

I’m also kind of bummed out … but I’ll get over it. And next time, I’m really not going to look.

That’s 258,007 down, 741,993 to go to 1 million made foul shots.

For more on Hoops For Heroes, with a goal of 1 million made foul shots and $1 million raised for the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund, visit www.hoopsforheroes.com or contact Dave Cummings at 603-554-7855.
 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “May 10-12: 4,500, and more interesting feedback

  1. Bee Dub Ya

    May 11, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    My Man D.C.-The only thing you need to be bummed out about is the fact that you and I aren’t lining up these “UL” clowns up for a lil Guild Heights 2-on-2 beatdown in hoops!! Keep shootin, friend! The people that matter most are most proud of you!

     
  2. Mindy

    May 12, 2010 at 9:03 am

    There is always a critic…but more importantly there are so many that thank you and appreciate what you are doing. Hang in there. Keep shooting. Keep thanking the troops. They appreciate it. My husband has been serving for 25 years…the soldiers all appreciate it. I appreciate it, too.

    Keep it up.

    God Bless!

     
  3. amy lord gonzalez

    May 12, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Dave, don’t let the turkeys get you down! You’re doing an amazing thing and I’m proud that you’re from my hometown!!!!

     
  4. Mark Decoteau

    May 12, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Hey Dave – Check out the pic on your dogtag and remember that you are doing it for the many just like him serving our country – not the morons making negative comments on a NH newspaper website! One of those morons even admits that his only “skill” is drinking beer. That kind of puts it all in perspective!

     
  5. Marilyn

    May 13, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    Darling Dave: Those people are idiots in the raw! Bet none of them know anyone who has served and/or have paid the price. They have no idea of that which they are so negative. You are MY HERO!! What you are doing is incredible, awe-inspiring, and displays a loyal, selfless act of dedication. LOVE YOU BABE!

     

Leave a Reply

 
