RSS

July 2, 2010: 1,500, and Happy Birthday, Noah

02 Jul

Well now on a summer night, in a dusky room
Come a little piece of the Lord’s undying light
Crying like he swallowed the fiery moon
In his mother’s arms it was all the beauty I could take
Like the missing words to some prayer that I could never make
In a world so hard and dirty, so fouled and confused
Searching for a little bit of God’s mercy,
I found living proof.
Bruce Springsteen

I truly have no idea in the world how it happened, but that little baby boy you see above, from whose room in South Portland, Maine we watched the fireworks the night we brought him home, turns 10 years old today. Double-digits? Really? Noah has gone from that beautiful little baby to a clingy toddler to an anxious preschooler to a confident, smart, athletic, compassionate, mostly-responsible kid, and devoted big brother, in what seems like fifteen minutes … and I couldn’t possibly be prouder.

With this morning’s birthday 1,500, we’re now at 328,007 down, 671,993 to go to 1 million made free throws.

I love you, Noah David.

For more on Hoops For Heroes, with a goal of 1 million made foul shots and $1 million raised for the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund, visit www.hoopsforheroes.com or contact Dave Cummings at 603-554-7855.
 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “July 2, 2010: 1,500, and Happy Birthday, Noah

  1. Marilyn

    July 2, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    And I remember that day well – we waited by the phone all day and then it came – “It’s a boy!”. I wanted Noah to be born on my birthday (July 1st) and it looked like he might be born that day but the little rascal wanted his own day! I can’t believe it was 10 years ago. He is a sweet child and I wish I lived closer to enjoy him. BUT I get my loves from him when I do see him. Love to you all. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, NOAH!

     
  2. Kara Bean

    July 2, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    Happy Birthday NDC! As Seth said when he reached double digits, next you can reach for triple digits! Hope you’re having a great day!

    The Beans

     
  3. Paige Oristano

    July 4, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    perfect song for the perfect boy……!

     

Leave a Reply

 
