RSS

July 13, 2010: S’been kinda hot

13 Jul

Yikes.  It’s been a little more than a week since we last met here.  Eight straight days of 90-plus degrees and mug-gy.  Thanks for coming back.  Those kids up there, by the way, are the nine grandchildren of The Beautiful Heth’s parents, Jack and Nana, including our Things 1, 2 and 3, Rosie (top left), Noah (middle, gray T-shirt), and Mason (front right).  Korey, Kassie, Ava, Jack, Eli and Maya are the ones who don’t exactly belong to us.

So, what’s new?

Funny, in the last nine days, three of the four most important women in my life have celebrated birthdays — Auntie LJ (my sister Laura) on July 4, Dreamweaver (my mom Ghee-Ghee) on July 8 and Nana (my mother-in-law Earlene) on July 11.  I know, zero relevance to the Hoops, but I just feel like you and I need to catch up.  On the Hoops front, July 6 saw us cross over the third-of-the-way-there mark, so as Bill Murray might say, we’ve got that going for us.

What else?  Let’s see, after 1,000 made free throws Friday morning, nearly broke myself in half waterskiing in yet another example of my being way older than my brain leads me to believe.  As it was explained to me by fellow skiers Scott, Ben and Dave, I looked like an oversized stone being skimmed about 100 feet across Northwood Lake.  What I know firsthand is that when I came to a sudden, jarring stop, I was gasping for air and the ski was nowhere to be found.  So for those keeping score, that’s two ski trips and two really exciting wipeouts … and two blatant reminders of my advanced age.

Then along came Saturday, and a different kind of fun after another 1,000 morning makes.  Family reunion.  Bad news:  After about three straight weeks of perfect weather, rain landed.  Good news:  Nobody cared.  A hundred and fifteen of them showed up, five generations descended from Nana’s paternal grandparents, Andrew and Mary Rogers.  Many I knew, and plenty i didn’t, but it was a great day of dizzy bat races and hamburgers and potato sacks and badminton and Whiffle ball and three-legged sprints and even some swimming despite the iffy skies.

Here’s a little sampling of what it looked like …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So that’s what happens when The Beautiful Heth’s family has a reunion … 115 in the hooooouuuuuuse, and there would have been many more if everyone invited had showed up.

On the other hand, my family reunion would look like this: Dinner at my mom’s, and my dad comes over.  Seriously.  The only other person I know who does not have a single cousin is my sister.  Our dad was an only child, and our mom’s only sibling, Uncle Phil, is single.  So, we’re kind of like, um, loners.

So Saturday night, I’m still feeling kind of beat up in the upper spine from the waterski fall, so I get the brilliant idea that I should take a couple muscle relaxants, which I do, and it seems to help.  Except that when I get up Sunday morning to shoot, my muscles are so relaxed that I can barely get the ball to the rim.  It was a long 1,000, to be sure.

Yesterday, we finally got back to the business of 1,500, and kept it going again this morning.  Another 1,500 made, for a total of 342,507 down, 657,493 to go to 1 million made foul shots.

For more on Hoops For Heroes, with a goal of 1 million made foul shots and $1 million raised for the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund, visit www.hoopsforheroes.com or contact Dave Cummings at 603-554-7855.
 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “July 13, 2010: S’been kinda hot

  1. Marilyn

    July 13, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Great, great pictures Dave. My goodness, does Rosie look like The Beautiful Heth. Love that family. I miss them sooooo much. Give my love to all of them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
