RSS

July 31-August 3: Numbers games

03 Aug

As for the last few days …

You’d think after 370,000 or so made free throws, just based on the odds, there would be a day here or there when we’d make, let’s say, 250 in a row. Hasn’t happened yet. Yesterday morning, though, was the closest we’ve come yet, when 151 straight tosses fell through. And here they are …

In case you were wondering, this is the point at which you tell me how absolutely incredible that is. And then you say something like, “Wow, Dave, is that close to a world record or something?” And I say, “Well, not exactly.” And when I say “Not exactly,” I mean, it’s sort of close … in approximately the same way my 3-year-old daughter can hit a golf ball close to as far as John Daly.

Here’s how it is: If I took those 151 consecutive free throws, and extended that streak by 70, then I’d only be 5,000 away from the world record for most made foul shots in a row.

I’ve mentioned this name, Ted St. Martin, and this number, 5,221 (five thousand two hundred twenty one), before, and it’s just as ridiculous today as it was the first 500 times I told somebody about it.

(That’s Mr. St. Martin over there on the right, by the way.)

So anyway … I officially did not break the record for most consecutive foul shots yesterday, but I did make a total of 1,500, just as I did this morning, just as I did the previous two mornings.

Another brief story from Saturday …

As I’ve mentioned before, the goal here is to make 1 million documented foul shots. Obviously, no sane person is ever going to watch them all (or even 151 of them, most likely), but at least the proof will be there if need be. Hoopsforheroesvideo.com is the website, home of TMBMOAT (The Most Boring Movies Of All Time) for those who need some help nodding off one of these nights.

What I’m getting to is this: Each day, I check the video camera after each 250 made shots, and I do it for two reasons: 1. to get a feel for that day’s pace (the goal is 18 minutes per 250, which adds up to an hour and 48 minutes for 1,500); and 2. to make sure the camera is still rolling. I’ve come to No. 2 the hard way, having lost at least 2,000 shots along the way to technical difficulties (read: operator error). At least this way, checking every 250, the most I can lose at any one time is, well, 250.

On Saturday, it was after No. 750 that I found a blank screen. I had lost 90 of them.

So there’s really no moral to that story, I just figured I’d mention it. Otherwise, it was pretty much run-of-the-mill four days — 1,500 each, for a total of 372,507 down, 627,493 to go to 1 million made foul shots.

For more on Hoops For Heroes, with a goal of 1 million made foul shots and $1 million raised for the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund, visit www.hoopsforheroes.com or contact Dave Cummings at 603-554-7855.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
