RSS

April 28: Bringing it down

28 Apr

This may be a point of interest, or it may be a point of absolute disinterest, but in either case, I am here to note that on April 28, on the 714,902nd made shot of this project, I changed the shooting form I had used for essentially all of the first 714,901 made shots … basically to keep from knocking myself out.

I’d noticed recently that in addition to a very slight scrape of the ball across my substantial nose, which was causing a little cut that seemed not to want to ever completely go away, I was also beginning to thump myself in the forehead on each shot.

It was just a little thump, but enough that multiplied over a thousand or two shots each day, it was beginning to make me feel a little woozy. It might have been imagined, or it might have been real, but let’s face it: I’m already more than a little scattered. The chance of further compromising my already compromised gray matter holds little appeal.

So now, rather than bringing the ball up to my forehead, it starts at my chest.

Wow. That seemed a lot more interesting in my head.

For more on Hoops For Heroes, with a goal of 1 million made foul shots and $1 million raised for the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund, visit www.hoopsforheroes.com or contact Dave Cummings at 603-554-7855.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
