RSS

September 12-13: A few in Portsmouth

12 Oct

I think this photo accurately conveys a few things: 1) I could use a little leg hair trim; 2) I haven’t yet lost the Laconia Savings Bank money holder that Jim Lyons gave me a few months ago; 3) I was driving a Volkswagen that day; and 4) It was fairly steamy at the Leary Field courts in Portsmouth, NH, on September 13, 2011.

What’s not conveyed is this: 1) The back of my neck could use a little shave, too; 2) My driver’s license contained therein was to expire two weeks later, and I didn’t realize it for another two weeks after that; 3) That Volkswagen is actually my dad’s; and 4) It was pretty darned windy at the Leary Field courts, too.

As the communications guy for the New Hampshire Association of Realtors, I was in Portsmouth for a few days in mid-September as part of our annual fall conference. The days at the event are busy for us staff folk, so there were only a couple hours here and there to sneak in some shooting.

The formidable Bob Quinn, NHAR’s Government Affairs Director, had an hour to spare on Monday afternoon (Sept. 12), so we knocked off 300 before the camera battery ran out (no electrical outlets, right?). After I charged the battery, I returned an hour or so later to finish up by my lonesome.

Here’s where it got kind of funny …

Obviously, self-rebounding is a tedious pursuit in the best of circumstances, so with wind and mean rims, it was moving along even slower than slow. Meanwhile, on the court next to mine was a group of 20-somethings with a 4-on-4 game going on. Then one of them left.

“Hey, you want to join us?” one of them called over.

Now picture me, the 43-year-old loner over there videotaping himself shooting foul shots. Just for kicks, picture me pushing a pair of duct-taped, black-rimmed glasses up over the bridge of my nose, and why not add a Pee Wee Herman voice while you’re at it.

Me: “No thanks, guys.”

Full-on geek.

The good news is that 20 minutes later, when I had finally completed 500 for the day, they were still down a player, so I was able to join them for a few games, creaking around the court with some actual athletes.

It was social, if not athletic, redemption.

The next day, Tuesday the 13th, there was still wind but no Bob, so the 500 were lonelier, and dramatically slower, than the day before, and again it had to be done in two shifts after the battery died on the first one.

But that’s OK: 939,507 down, 60,493 to go to 1 million made foul shots.

There is no more to tell. Sometimes, the story just ends.

For more on Hoops For Heroes, with a goal of 1 million made foul shots and $1 million raised for the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund, visit www.hoopsforheroes.com or contact Dave Cummings at 603-554-7855.


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
